Employee Spotlight

Finding the strength to live a healthy life.

Strength is the ability to preserve in the face of incredible pressure. Pressure, however, doesn’t have to be physical. Neither does strength.

Our next employee spotlight is with a woman who has gone through so much just to emerge as an inspiration: Tanya Sage.

Tell us a little about yourself. tanyasage

I’m an RYT200 (Registered Yoga Teacher 20 hour training). I completed my training at Crossroads 2000 at South Space Yoga in Plantsville, CT. I am trained in Ashtanga principles, Iyengar Yoga for Back Care, and am well versed in Adaptive Yoga for people living with physical or health challenges. I enjoy teaching people of ALL abilities.

I came to be a yoga instructor after practicing yoga following severe injuries from a catastrophic car accident. I discovered its many physical, emotional, and spiritual benefits.

Looking at me today, you might not realize the extent of my injuries and how far I’ve come in the 11 years since my accident, but it will inspire you to begin your own journey on the path to a life of health and wellness! Pain doesn’t have to stop you from living well. Studies have shown that yoga can help reduce lower back pain and even symptoms of depression.

I love animals, especially my cats. I support and volunteer for animal rescues in my local area. I am happily married and live with my husband and two cats. I love gardening, camping and being in the woods. I’ve participated in numerous 5K’s and Triathlons since my injuries in 2005.deniz-altindas-38128

What kind of music would we find on your favorite playlist?

I play a wide variety of music in my classes, ranging from traditional and contemporary music of India, to upbeat New Age & Techno music with a Zen flair. You’ll also hear modern and classic rock, as well as classical music for relaxation and meditation. The music flows with the dynamic path of the class. It’s key to cardiovascular exercise and meditative relaxation.

What’s one thing you couldn’t live without?

I love my healthy lifestyle, but I enjoy gelato and just cannot live without good pizza. It’s important to enjoy the things you love in moderation! Depriving yourself of certain foods can lead to an unhealthy obsession and overvaluing of the thing we deprive ourselves from having.  We end up with an increasing desire for the things we tell ourselves we can’t have!

Moderation is key!

Keep an eye out on our website for more to come regarding Tanya’s services.

 

 

Leave a Reply

